Dre and I arrived at clinic about an hour earlier than needed. I wasn't really excited but I wanted to get it over with. We walk into the waiting area and sign in. I came prepared with laptop, movies, candy, blanket, socks to cover my feet, snacks for Dre and magazines. I was told it would take about 3 hours and that these items would make the time past faster.
I first have to to take blood work. They want to make sure that my blood count was okay. It was and then I had to wait to get my chemo drugs. When it was my time, they called us back to this cold sitting room with recliners and IV drip poles. We both got comfortable and I waited for the nurse to put my IV in. She was really good and it wasn't painful at all. She first had to give me a nausea med, a steroid for inflammation and benedryl for any allergic reaction. I watched each fluid drip into my IV and into my body. When this was done, she started my chemo drugs. I take 2 different ones. She put the first drug in it took about 40 minutes to drip into my body. Then she gave me the next one and it took about an hour to drip. This second drug is the one that will give me 100% hair loss. I was actually cursing this fluid as it dripped into my body. LOL I slept most of the time since the benedryl makes you sleepy. I didn't watch movie, eat any snacks or used laptop. It wasn't so bad. I kept waiting for a reaction but none came. Dre just sat patiently with me. He actually slept most of the time. I did wake up for awhile to tell him to stop snoring. LOL Gotta love him.
After treatment was all over, we came back and I sat down to watch some TV with Dre and Kristina. I ate a bowl of Captain Crunch. That was all I really wanted. Then, I started to get sleepy. I was very tired after my treatment and all I wanted to do was sleep. I took my last dose of evening pills and I went to sleep. I slept like a baby all night. :)
Woke up this morning felling wonderful!! There was no nausea, no vomiting and no aching body. I did have a slight headache. This felt weird to me since the last time I had chemo, I felt HORRIBLE the next day. It was the worse things ever. I remember vomiting clear fluid because I wasn't able to eat anything. I will never forget how bad it was. But today, it was so different. I got up, ate cereal, took my morning pills and then got dressed. As I walked around, I kept waiting for something to feel funny but it didn't. Dre and I ran an errand to the store and I felt good. We went to eat my favorite restaurant and I got some healthy vietnamese food. But after about an hour, I started to feel sleepy and needed to get back home. I came home and got right into the bed. I have slept the whole day. Now I am up and still not feeling any nausea or vomiting. This is amazing and I can't believe it. This is so different than the last time. As I sit here, I wait to see a side effect. But I am being positive that I will get through it all with God's help. God has been carrying me and I know it. I feel so blessed with all the support that I am receiving that it makes me so happy.
It is Saturday night, I just ate some watermelon with Dre and now we are about to watch a movie. I feel good and I love life. I am excited to get thorough this chemo and finish it. I can't wait to complete this process and start the healing process. So one down and three more to go!! I can't wait until I can write that I just finished my last treatment!! :) I am confident that I am going to be alright and that cancer will be a thing of the past for me. I am a fighter, a survivor and a believer!! I am really proud of myself!! :)
No comments:
Post a Comment